BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
saatkinson
Calcite | Level 5

Hi!

I'm new to SAS, but I need to run a lot of two-way ANOVAs and store the statistics information in a format that I can easily access later. I have two categorical independent variables, Gender and Treatment, and for this sample I have ~470 different continuous dependent variables, where each variable is a gene ID (for example A0A011V3B7) called Y_1-Y_470 here for ease of typing. I can successfully output each individual result with:

proc anova data=data_red;

class Gender Treatment

model Y_1 = Gender Treatment Gender*Treatment /*repeat with Y_2, Y_3, etc.*/

run;

But I don't relish doing this 470 times, and was hoping for help in automating the process to make SAS do it for me.  I found a couple posts similar to what I want to do and have tried to combine/modify them to suit my needs.

Here is what I've attempted:

proc sql noprint;
	select distinct NAME into : namelist separated by ' ' from anova_vars; /*retrieve variable names into a macro variable*/
quit;

%macro runAnvoa(DSName, nameList);
%local i next_name;
%let i=1;
%do %while (%scan(&namelist, &i) ne);
	%let next_name = %scan(&namelist, &i);
	proc anova data=data_red outstat=PE(rename=(&namelist=Value)); /*trying to name each model with the gene name*/
		class Gender Treatment;
		model next_name = Gender Treatment Gender*Treatment;
		quit;
	proc append base=outStats data=PE;
	run;
%end;

%runanvoa(data_red, &namelist);

/*if above works look at output statistics:*/ proc print outStats; run;

This gives me an error about quoted strings, but I'm not using quotes at all. I've included the log file from my run.  Any help to get this working (or a more efficient way to do it) would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

Don't use macros. Use the BY statement.