BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Yirara
Calcite | Level 5

I'd love to learn for the Base certification. I'm currently looking at Amazon but can't decide which book(s) I really need. I'm a complete beginner, never worked with SAS before and my programming knowledge is somewhat lacking. Which book(s) are most suitable for me, and how long should I study until I'm ready to take the certification exam? Normally I'm a quick learner and I have a scietific background. Looking at career change, coming from oil and gas. Thanks a lot.

8 REPLIES 8
Reeza
Super User

The Base Certificatiom guide

Before you purchase anything I'd strongly consider completing the first e-course from SAS which is free, and the web tutorials. 

The certification exam is on sale this week for $100 so you may want to book that, your ready for the exam when you can answer questions in book. 

Tutorials are here :

http://support.sas.com/training/tutorial

If you find you need more materials I'd recommend Little SAS Book. 

Yirara
Calcite | Level 5
Thanks a lot. A US exam unfortunately doesn't help me. But still thanks for all advise 🙂
Mark2010
SAS Employee

Look at the Base Certification Prep Guide. Get your hands on free SAS software for learning SAS via SAS University Edition. As far as timing goes, it of course depend on the focus you can bring to your preparation and how well you can pick up the concept of programming. 3 to 6 months is not an unreasonable expectation.

Yirara
Calcite | Level 5
Also thanks a lot Mark. Not sure how easy I'll be able to pick everything up, but as I'm currently not working I should be able to at least invest a fair amount of time on it each day. I also need to look at getting SAS to run on my machine before I start anything.

I read on some reviews over at Amazon that the base certification prep guide might not be so useful for people without programming experience and that the Little SAS book might be a good primer. Do you agree?
Reeza
Super User