BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
deleted_user
Not applicable
Hello all,
I am having a heck of a time getting quality output from SAS/GRAPH and importing that into Word. I've tried various drivers, ODS for RTF, and the stuff mentioned in TS674 and it's still not as nice as what can be generated in native MS Excel. My biggest issue is with the fonts. They come out resembling something that my line printer/dot matrix used to generate. All I want is to generate a graph and then import it into WORD, sometimes as a stand alone page, sometimes within a document. When I generate the output in PDF it's fantastic but as far as I know, you can't import PDF directly into Word.

Since I'm new to this graphing stuff, please let me know what combinations have worked for you! As reference, I'm using SAS 9.1.3 SP4 and WORD 2002.

Thank you so much

Paula
3 REPLIES 3
OS2Rules
Obsidian | Level 7
I found that when doing the same thing the problem was with Word and not with SAS.

In most cases the graph is not kept at the original size in the Word document, and it is the resizing that causes the problems.

To get around this problem I would usually do the following:

Create the graph with SAS as a BMP (bitmap) or TIFF image. They are bigger (in bytes), but they don't loose as much when you manipulate them. Make the image at least 800 x 600 pixels to start. Also make sure the the fonts are large enough so that when the image is reduced in size, you can still read them. Save this image in a temp directory.

Then use a image editor to resize the image to the size you want in the Word document. This works much better than letting Word do it and the image will not loose as much. At this time you can also convert the final image to a GIF or JPEG.

When you resize the image, try to keep the aspect ratio the same (4:3 if the original was 800x600), or the quality could be reduced.