BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
SaSoDude
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi,

I'm new to SAS and started to program and tests some things. Now I found a strange behavior and maybe someone is nice and explains it to me. This is my code:

DATA one;
 INPUT id v3 v4;
 DATALINES;
 1 10 100
 2 15 150
 3 20 200
 ;

DATA two;
 INPUT id v3 v4;
 DATALINES;
 4 1000 10000
 5 1500 15000
 5 2000 20000
 7  800 30000
 ;

DATA theData;
    SET one;
    OUTPUT;
    IF _N_ THEN DO;
    IF id = 2 THEN DO;
    SET two (WHERE=(id = 5));
    OUTPUT;
    END;
    END;
RUN;

PROC PRINT DATA=one;
TITLE "one";
RUN;
PROC PRINT DATA=two;
TITLE "two";
RUN;
PROC PRINT DATA=theData;
TITLE "theData";
RUN;

The result is:

# id v3 v41234

I expected one more row,  "5 2000 20000"

between 

and 

Am I'm wrong?

Best,

Markus

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Quentin
Super User

@SaSoDude wrote:

Thanks a lot for your kind post @Tom!

I will take a closer look and try to understand it, in the meantime:

Actually, I would like to have this dataset as result:

Obs    id     v3       v4

1      1      10      100
 2      2      15      150
 3      5    1500    15000
 4      5    2000    20000
 4      3      20      200

In words:

I want to search in dataset one for a specific id e.g. 2 and put then the rows from dataset two where the id is equal to 5 between the rows with id=2 and id=3. 

You've got good answers already.  And this is good stuff to play with while learning!

As has been pointed out,  to get what you want you need to read multiple records from work.two, which means that SET statement needs to execute multiple times.  One way to do that is with a DO UNTIL loop which will continue to iterate until the last record is read.  If you're familiar with using the END= option on a SET statement, you can use it like:

data want ;
  set one ;
  put _N_= ID= V3= V4= ;
  output ;

if id=2 then do until(done) ;