BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
TheresaM
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi all,

I recently passed the Base SAS Certification exam, yay!!  While studying and taking practice exams, I posted several times to this board, and found everyone extremely helpful (thank you!) with regard to answering my questions and overall encouragement.  Now that I'm job hunting, I have another question.

I have a limited background in programming (took college courses in C and Java, self-taught in a few other languages) but have no professional experience in programming other than now having the Base SAS certification.  With that being said, I feel like I've found the career path I've long-been searching for, and I'm excited to dive right into the field.  

It'd be great to hear any thoughts people have on how to pivot oneself as a new-to-the-field SAS programmer.  I am applying to one position that offers "a comprehensive training program to expand their SAS and Linux competencies, acquire hands-on experience under the direction of skilled programmers" and have my fingers crossed that they might overlook my 0 years of professional experience.  The application requires sample code written exclusively by me, so I downloaded some publicly available datasets related to the position and wrote code that cleans up, merges datasets, and creates a few tables. 

How have others gone from "no professional experience" to "enough" experience for prospective employers?

8 REPLIES 8
Quentin
Super User