BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
tka726
Obsidian | Level 7

I am trying to see if there is a trend in a continuous lab value over time. There are 3 timepoints (1=baseline, 2=month 1, 3=month 2). I structured the data such that each patient has 3 records. Most patients have data for all 3 timepoints, but not all.

Is a mixed model appropriate, with repeated time? Or do I use proc reg?

I am relatively new with proc mixed; this is the mixed model I currently have.

proc mixed data=lab covtest;

class time ptno;

model labval = time;

repeated time/subject=ptno type=un;

lsmeans time / cl pdiff adjust=tukey;

ods output LSMeans=lsmeans1;

run;

Type 3 Tests of Fixed Effects
Effect Num DF Den DF F Value Pr > F
time 2 207 137.04 <.0001

Do I use the type 3 tests of fixed effects to determine if there is a trend over time?

IF I want to see the differences between any 2 timepoints, should I use the p-values from the differences of least square  means section, or should I do paired t-tests/wilcoxon signed rank?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
SteveDenham
Jade | Level 19

EDIT: I forgot to say that your PROC MIXED approach is quite good.  I wouldn't shift to REG.  The Type3 tests are whether at least one time point mean differs from all the rest.  That may not be a trend, so...

If you want to look at a trend in time, use an LSMESTIMATE statement.

lsmestimate 'linear time' time -1 0 1;
lsmestimate 'quadratic time' time 1 -2 1;

Note that with 3 time points, for linear time the middle time point has no effect, which is why looking at the quadratic time (or deviation from linearity) is useful.

SteveDenham

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
SteveDenham
Jade | Level 19