BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
mariebee
Calcite | Level 5

I'm new to SAS, and I am a bit stuck.

Roughly here is the design:

60 participants each completed the same comprehension test twice (scored 0-6).

Once after reading each text in two different Formats (i.e., Single and Control). 

When they read the different Formats, two topics were presented so participants didn't read the same topic twice. One was based on Animations and the other was based on People. 

(Note: order was counterbalanced and is not a variable of interest).

I want to look at ME of each Format and Topic AND Format*Topic

Data is set up like this:

ID Order Ani1 Single1 Score

---

---

--

My code looks like this:

PROC MIXED DATA=x;

MODEL score = Ani1|Single1 / S DDFM=kr;

REPEATED / SUBJECT = ID TYPE=un; run;

However, I am not confident it is correct, since I get the SAME results (below) with and without the Repeated/Subject line in the code. Am I doing something wrong?

Solution for Fixed EffectsEffect Estimate StandardError DF t Value Pr > |t|InterceptAni1Single1Ani1*Single1

3.88240.274511414.14<.0001
-0.84240.4217114-2.000.0482

12 REPLIES 12
SteveDenham
Jade | Level 19

I think the similarity is due to treating your independent factors as continuous variables (essentially a regression).  As a result, the REPEATED statement doesn't really accomplish what you want to do.  So, perhaps this would help:

PROC MIXED DATA=x;
CLASS Ani1 Single1 Order ID;
MODEL score = Ani1|Single1|Order / S DDFM=kr;
REPEATED Order/ SUBJECT = ID TYPE=un;
LSMEANS Ani1 Single1 Ani1*Single1;
 run;