BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Uvanpriya
Calcite | Level 5

I have obtained the type I sum of squares corresponding to the variables in a ZIP model under genmod procedure  and i am confused as to how SAS calculates the type I sum of squares for the 2 model statements.( MODEL AND ZEROMODEL STATEMENTS)Capture.PNG

can someone explain why twice the log likelihood value is same for the variable g in both the models?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Rick_SAS
SAS Super FREQ

I am not an expert in ZIP Models, but it seems like you can answer this question yourself by using an experiment. Merely change the order of the variables on the MODEL statement and see if the values in the Type1Zero table change.

When I do the experiment I find the following:
1. If I change the order of the variables on the MODEL statement. the values in the Type1Zero table do not change.

2. Similarly, if I change the order of the variables on the ZEROMODEL statement, the values in the Type1 table do not change.

You can do a second experiment: Change the model or zero-model and see how it affects the tables.

3. If I change the variables used on the MODEL statement. the values in the Type1Zero table change.

2. Similarly, if I change the variables used on the ZEROMODEL statement, the values in the Type1 table change.

I think this answers your question.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
StatDave
SAS Super FREQ
It is the last variable added to the model, so this single type 1 value is its effect to the overall model - adjusted for all other variables in the model.
Uvanpriya
Calcite | Level 5

what do you mean by the overall model? Are you referring to both the model statement and the zeromodel statement?