BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Chi_spc
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi All,

I am totally new to SAS software. We are a manufacturing company and are now implementing SAS Analytics package for data mining, process improvements, etc.

What I am responsible for is to bring in Statistical Process Control (SPC) for our production process for real-time data monitoring. One of our requirements is for the shop floor operator to perform manual data entry to SAS and data should be updated right away on the Shewhart charts.

Is SAS Web Reporting Studio the right tool for us to build, configure and use the UI for user manual data entry?  Or any other SAS tool will be the best fit?

I have heard from some other companies that they develop C#, .NET, Java, JavaScript, etc. for frontend data entry. Our company's ultimate goal is that our manufacturing engineers will be able to develop, modify and maintain the frontend user-interface (UI) so that they do not need to rely on our MIS developers to do so. Our engineers are familiar with JMP script so we are trying to stick with SAS programming.

Hope anyone would provide recommendations. Thanks.

Jeff

13 REPLIES 13
Reeza
Super User

There's SAS/AF but that's very old school.

Generally, I don't consider SAS to be a data entry tool, more of an analytical tool. Depending on how big you expect your data to get you probably do want to have some different options. I'm not familiar with JMP so I can't say if that's an option or not.

Another option is Access DB...again old school but works well for data entry.

twocanbazza
Quartz | Level 8

I think you can upload data from the Excel via AMO - you could do something with that but I do agree with Reeza I wouldn't consider SAS as data entry tool.

Barry

ccaulkins9
Pyrite | Level 9
as long as you have Microsoft add-ins installed?
e-SAS regards,

SASKiwi
PROC Star