BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Quentin
Super User

Hi,

I'm new to VA 7.3 , working on a server that is on the other side of the globe. 

In a browser, when I open the main VA link, I see the "loading" page for 35 seconds before it opens.

When I click Data Explorer it takes 1 minute 10 seconds to load.  If I go back to home and click Report Designer it takes >1 minute to load.  Back to home and click the viewer, it takes >1 minute to load.

After everything has loaded, I can switch back and forth between the apps, and performance is fine.  And once I'm in an application, performance making charts etc seems fine.

I use a BI server in the same cage, and it feels a bit sluggish, but not painful.  But makes sense that VA is more network intensive than SPWA.

I discussed with the admins, and they said they had contacted tech support, and that when each application opens, it is downloading a ton of data (because it's using Flash?), and that there isn't a way to cache this data.  The hope is that when we upgrade to 7.4 it will be all HTML5 and will load faster than Flash.

Just wanted to ask the group if that sounds reasonable, and if others have had slow responses when opening applications on a VA server that is distant in geographic and/or network space.

I was hoping to switch some of my EBI reporting over to VA.  But I hate the thought of trying to sell my users on the new fast solution, and the first thing they notice is staring at a company logo for a minute, wondering if their browser has crashed. 

That said, if the answer is "it's crazy to work with a VA server on the other side of the globe because it is too network intensive," I'm happy to go back to our admins and ask them to put an instance in my hemisphere. : )

Thanks,

--Q.

BASUG is hosting free webinars Next up: Jane Eslinger presenting PROC REPORT and the ODS EXCEL destination on Mar 27 at noon ET. Register now at the Boston Area SAS Users Group event page: https://www.basug.org/events.
7 REPLIES 7
Joy_SAS