BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
ghartge
Quartz | Level 8

Greetings,

I was wondering if anyone has a document that addresses applying row level security on VA 7.3? I am attempting to read a userid and display data specific to that id and can't seem to get it to work. I am new at this so I am sure I am just missing something, but what I can find on the web doesn't match what I am seeing in our install. I am simply hoping for an example. 

Thanks,

Gary

10 REPLIES 10
AnnaBrown
Community Manager

Hi @ghartge

Perhaps this thread will help? SAS Visual Analytics 7.3 - Row-Level Security

Anna

Join us for SAS Community Trivia
SAS Bowl XXIX, The SAS Hackathon
Wednesday, March 8, 2023, at 10 AM ET | #SASBowl

ghartge
Quartz | Level 8

Thank you Anna,

I have seen most of the links in the thread you have sent. It appears that the composer is having the same issue as I am. From what was described to us by SAS on site was that we could apply permissions to a LASR table as described in several documents, enter/code Identity Properties such as SUB::SAS.Userid via a conditional grant in the LASR table and have that filter the report appropriately. Following SAS's description and what I have found online, I am seeing different images/screenshots and I cannot get things to work.

I was hoping to find an example of how to do this using VA 7.3 or above.

Thank you,

Gary

Madelyn_SAS
SAS Super FREQ

If a filter for an individual identity does not work as expected, the most likely causes are case sensitivity and the suffix. Specifically, the SUB::SAS.Userid property normalizes the value to all uppercase. For Windows, look for problems with how the domain is specified. For more information, see Windows User ID Formats in the SAS Intelligence Platform: Security Administration Guide.

Another common cause is unexpected leading or trailing blanks in the ID.