BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Kebru
Calcite | Level 5

Hey,

i'm pretty new in the SAS world. I need to create a dashboard for my exam in the university.

I want to upload a excel sheet to SAS Viya. The upload is done via a Unicode text (*.txt). The upload itself works, but I can't manage to transfer the date into a clever format. The date in Excel is user defined in a german format (DD.MM.YYYY hh:mm:ss). How do I get the date converted to a SAS compatible fortmat? Unfortunately I am not familiar with SAS programming. Can I make settings in Excel?

Thanks a lot. Greeting from Germany.

2 REPLIES 2
jimbarbour
Meteorite | Level 14

@Kebru,

SAS should be able to read almost any datetime value whether from Germany, Ghana or Guiana.  

For example, if I have a datetime formatted as 25.10.2020 09:49:25, the following SAS code will read that datetime value quite well.  Your LOCALE setting typically determines whether the date portion is read Day-Month-Year (common in Europe) or Month-Day-Year (common in North America).

DATA	German_Formatted_Dates;
	INPUT	SAS_Date_Time	&	:	ANYDTDTM19.;
	Fmt_SAS_Date_Time	=	SAS_Date_Time;
	FORMAT	Fmt_SAS_Date_Time		DATETIME19.;
DATALINES;
25.10.2020 09:49:25
;
RUN;

Results:

jimbarbour_0-1603638701715.png

Notice that I have two values:  An unformatted value and a formatted value.  Both values are equal.  The second value has a FORMAT applied to it, and therefore is displayed as 25OCT2020 09:49:25 but is stored  as 1919238565.

The difference between how data is formatted (or displayed) vs. how data is stored is important.  I suspect the German formatted datetime values in your Excel file is actually stored as an an Excel datetime value.  

For example, the formatted datetime value 25.10.2020 09:49:25 would be stored as 44129.4093171296 in Excel.  There is a conversion formula to change the value to the equivalent value in SAS:  SAS_date_time = (Excel_date_time - 21916) * 86400;