BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
thesasuser
Pyrite | Level 9

I am new to SAS Viya 3.5. Trying to understand the concept of project, creating projects and reports.
I would appreciate if somebody can provide me link to documentation / tutorials on creating projects and anything that help me understand the concept

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Sam_SAS
SAS Employee
It has been a while since I messed with projects.

Projects are metadata entities, I don't think there is any physical file associated with them. I believe that all projects are stored in the same virtual folder within the metadata repository.

I don't think you can share a project in the same way you can share other stuff in SAS Drive (i.e., right-click and select "Share"). Instead, the owner of the project can add members. I believe users that you add as members will receive a notification when you do this.

The Drive team will be interested to know, are you an external SAS customer?

Sam

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
Sam_SAS
SAS Employee

Hello,

SAS Drive projects were actually removed from Viya 4 a while back, so that might be part of why you can't find doc.

Here is some doc:

https://go.documentation.sas.com/doc/en/vacdc/8.5/drive/p00etpiv67hnl2n141wjv79a6wy5.htm

Instead of using projects, consider just using a shared folder. Part of the reason projects were dropped in Viya 4 is that almost no customers were using them.

Sam

thesasuser
Pyrite | Level 9

Thanks so much @Sam_SAS 
 I am using SAS Viya 3.5 and have to work on projects. I will appreciate if you can answer a few more question.
Where is the project saved on the disk OR are they virtual folders? 
Can I share them?

Sam_SAS
SAS Employee
It has been a while since I messed with projects.