BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Chrystopher
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi, I'm a rookie on this subject, I'm trying to connect my SAS Visual Analytics to a Oracle DB through ODBC but i don't have SAS/ACCESS, so, when  i'm trying to import a table, SAS show me this message:

/* *********************************************** */
/* Assign the libref for the data in a ODBC table */
/*
2 ! *********************************************** */

LIBNAME db_odbc ODBC PRESERVE_COL_NAMES=YES PRESERVE_TAB_NAMES=YES
2 ! DATAsrc="DWH" USER=user PASSWORD="{sas002}878D5B5C3B2BCCFC89DC745E59E548C" ;

ERROR: CLI error trying to establish connection: Specified driver could not be loaded due to system error 5: Access is denied.
(Oracle en OraClient12Home1, C:\ORACLE\product\12.1.0\client_2\SQORA32.DLL).
ERROR: Error in the LIBNAME statement.
3 options VALIDVARNAME=ANY VALIDMEMNAME=EXTEND;

My questions are:

I need SAS/CONNECT to import a table from Oracle?

Or there is another way to import a table from Oracle?

BTW. I configure successfully the odbc in the ODBC Data Source Administration (Windows).

Thanks.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
SASKiwi
PROC Star

You need SAS/ACCESS to ODBC not SAS/CONNECT. Your LIBNAME wont work unless this product is both installed and licensed.

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
SASKiwi
PROC Star

You need SAS/ACCESS to ODBC not SAS/CONNECT. Your LIBNAME wont work unless this product is both installed and licensed.

LinusH
Tourmaline | Level 20
SAS/CONNECT is used for connecting to another SAS server. For Oracle, as @SASKiwi says, you need SAS/ACCESS For either ODBC or Oracle (with a SQL*NET client).
Data never sleeps

sas-innovate-2024.png

Join us for SAS Innovate April 16-19 at the Aria in Las Vegas. Bring the team and save big with our group pricing for a limited time only.