BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
AsmaFejjari
Calcite | Level 5

Hi,

I am new with VA

I would like to represent an increasing curve over time that represent cumulative values for years ( 10 years )..

To build my variable I used :

CumulativePeriod(_Sum_, "Mesure", Date , _Inferred_, _ByYear_, 0, _Full_, )

but The cumulativeperiod function calculates only over one year.

PS: the depth of the historical data available is not fixed,it depends on an other categorie variable..

Thanks in advance

10 REPLIES 10
Pete_J_L
Calcite | Level 5

Hi Asma

I'm new to VA too. This is the first thing I tried to do. And then I find it can't even perform a basic cumulative function over more than a year.

The mind boggles.

itchyeyeballs
Pyrite | Level 9

Have a look at my post in this thread should give you what you need,

you basically have to calculate each year separately  then add together

Pete_J_L
Calcite | Level 5
Thank you! I'll give that a try. Just to clarify for my newbie brain, how does one create aggregate measures of prior years?
itchyeyeballs
Pyrite | Level 9

Hi,

Theres guidance here on creating cumulative period data, you will just need to adjust item 6 in the first image shown in that link to pick how many years to go back, -1,-2 etc

itchyeyeballs
Pyrite | Level 9

Let us know how you get on 🙂

Don't forget to mark the thread as solved if the suggestion works

Pete_J_L
Calcite | Level 5

Thanks for the advice, I gave it a fair crack, but didn't have any luck. It's far too fiddly for what should be very basic functionality within VA.

itchyeyeballs
Pyrite | Level 9

Let us know where you hit problems,

I'm not one to pull my punches with VA (Think it lacks in several key areas) but in this case I'm not sure it would be any easier in competitor products as they all seem to work over one year periods and therefore need some fiddling

Pete_J_L
Calcite | Level 5