BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
dioniaditama
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi All, I'm Dion, I'm new in SAS and I want to ask about Email Configuration (SMTP) To Perform Alert From SAS VA.

Before I wrote this post, I already try to configure the email configuration based on documentation and read the previous post about email configuration in SAS.

Here is my specification:

- OS = Windows Server 2012

- SAS = SAS 9.4

- Task = Create email alert at report in SAS VA.

The step that have I done

- edit sasv9.cfg . I read the documentation that I must change the line with my SMTP setting, so I edit and save it just like the picture below

sas.jpg

- After I save the file, I go to SAS 9.4 System Option to configure the email. In here I'm very confuse, I'm cant insert my email host the UI only show 3 option with dropdown list and there is no host that I wrote in sasv9.cfg.

Untitled2.jpg

- I try to search other documentation, and then I found the other option, now I edit server.xml under WebAppServer\SASServerXX.

I edit the 3 server.xml file, replacing the default SAS into my smtp configuration. Here is my line :

<Resource auth="Container" mail.smtp.host="mail.xxx.com" mail.smtp.port="465" name="sas/mail/Session" type="javax.mail.Session" mail.smtp.auth="true" mail.smtp.user="xxx@xxx.com" password="xxx"/>.

I save it and return to System Option to see if there is any change, but there is no change at all, still unable to configure email host.

And then I'm here, hope any help from anyone in here.

So my question :

Whats wrong with the step that I have done above?

And the true question is how to configure smtp email in SAS so I can send an email through alert system in SAS VA?

Thank you

Dioni

7 REPLIES 7
dioniaditama
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi @alexal, thanks for the response.

I've read the documentation, and I edit all the existing server.xml (3 file on 3 server). I edit the default line, change it to my smtp configuration. Like this :