BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
NiranjanaKR
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi!

I am new to SAS University Studio. How do I make best use of SAS University Studio for teaching Stats for Six Sigma Black Belt, ASQ syllabus?

Currently, I am still learning SAS Programming and hence uncomfortable.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
DarthPathos
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10

Hi!

Welcome to the community.  90% of what you can do in "Base" SAS, you can do in SAS University Edition.  I highly recommend looking at the SAS Documentation on what you what to do (for example, Pareto Charts) and then you should be able to develop the same type of graph in SAS University Edition.  The fully licenced version of SAS has a Quality Control module that is not part of the University Edition, but that doesn't mean the graphs can't be built - you will just need to use some creativity.

I recommend starting off with this paper - although using an older version of SAS, it covers a lot of good topics (and the code still works as SAS is 100% backward compatible).

To get an idea of what's possible in SAS's Quality Control software, read through some of the documentation here.  

To get help with SAS University Edition, check out the community here; if you need help getting started with UE, check out this post.  

I also highly recommend the following books, available through SAS Publishing or major bookseller: An Introduction to SAS University Edition by Ron Cody, Business Statistics Made Easy by Greg Lee, and SAS/Graph: Beyond the Basics by Robert Allison.  These books don't cover Six Sigma directly, but a lot of the concepts will be applicable to what you're planning to teach.

Good luck and post back if you have any further questions!

Chris

Has my article or post helped? Please mark as Solution or Like the article!

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
DarthPathos