BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
acyares
Calcite | Level 5

Hi, 

I'm new to SAS studio and I'm having a problem opening an .stc file. I never had a problem opening this file until switching over to SAS studio. How do I go about importing/opening the file? 

Thanks, 

Ami

7 REPLIES 7
TheShark
Obsidian | Level 7

Have you tried,

proc cport
 file = 'C:\path_to_file\filename.stc'
 library = WORK
 disk
;
run ;
acyares
Calcite | Level 5

Yup, that's what I tried first. Here's what I happened: 

x1 OPTIONS NONOTES NOSTIMER NOSOURCE NOSYNTAXCHECK;
x61
x62 proc cport
x63 file = 'C:\Users\acyares\Desktop\sppa1982-2012_nw.sas7bdat\35588-0004-Data.stc'
x64 library = WORK
x65 disk
x66 ;
x67 run ;

xERROR: Insufficient authorization to access
x/opt/sasinside/SASConfig/Lev1/SASApp/C:\Users\acyares\Desktop\sppa1982-2012_nw.sas7bdat\35588-0004-Data.stc.
xNOTE: The SAS System stopped processing this step because of errors.
xNOTE: PROCEDURE CPORT used (Total process time):
xreal time 0.00 seconds
xcpu time 0.00 seconds

x68
x69 OPTIONS NONOTES NOSTIMER NOSOURCE NOSYNTAXCHECK;
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

First PROC CPORT is used to CREATE cport files. If you want to read one you need to use PROC CIMPORT.

Second the file needs to be in a location that the SAS program can read. Your logs is clearly showing that you are trying to reference a file using Windows filename (and most likely on the personal computer) and your SAS session is running on a Unix machine.

If you are using SAS University Edition the make sure to but the file into a folder that you mapped into the virtural machine that is runnng SAS. If you are running SAS/Studio on some physical Unix machine then put the file into a folder on that machine (or a drive that is mounted on that machine.) You could try using the SAS/Studio interface to upload the file from your PC as long as it is not too large.