BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Jannic
Fluorite | Level 6

Dear All,

as a complete SAS newbie, I need to download & clean TRACE data from WRDS. Unfortunately I do not have access to SAS directly (as in having the software on my computer), but I can use SAS Studio in my webbrower thanks to WRDS. 

The cleaning procedure is already implemented in SAS, see the appended PDF. I only need to figure out how to access the TRACE data and put in memory such that the cleaning procedure works and then how to save the data. Using the web interface (I think) I have been able to access the dataset, using the following lines of code:

PROC SQL;
CREATE TABLE WORK.query AS
SELECT cusip_id , bond_sym_id , company_symbol , trd_exctn_dt , trd_exctn_tm , trd_rpt_dt , trd_rpt_tm , msg_seq_nb , trc_st , scrty_type_cd , wis_fl , cmsn_trd , entrd_vol_qt , rptd_pr , yld_sign_cd , yld_pt , asof_cd , days_to_sttl_ct , sale_cndtn_cd , sale_cndtn2_cd , rpt_side_cd , buy_cmsn_rt , buy_cpcty_cd , sell_cmsn_rt , sell_cpcty_cd , cntra_mp_id , agu_qsr_id , spcl_trd_fl , trdg_mkt_cd , dissem_fl , orig_msg_seq_nb , SUB_PRDCT , STLMNT_DT , TRD_MOD_3 , TRD_MOD_4 , LCKD_IN_IND , PR_TRD_DT FROM TRACE.TRACE_ENHANCED;
RUN;
QUIT;

PROC DATASETS NOLIST NODETAILS;
CONTENTS DATA=WORK.query OUT=WORK.details;
RUN;

PROC PRINT DATA=WORK.details;
RUN;

if I click "OUTPUT DATA" ribbon, it looks quite what I was looking for. The begining of the code of the cleaning procedure (the whole code is in the pdf) is the following:

* The name of the original Enhanced TRACE dataset
* supplied to the program;
%LET IN = traceIN;
* The name given to the cleaned Enhanced TRACE dataset;
%Let OUT = traceCLEAN;
* Path to your library containing the dataset;
* The cleaned dataset will be stored in this location;
Libname TRACE 'C:\Enhanced TRACE';

dm 'clear log';
dm 'clear output';

data temp_raw