BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
SASnoobie101
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi,

First time poster here, need help!

I'm trying to append a bunch of output tables from my macro. Do i do this with a nested macro in a do loop? or some other way?

My macro is 

%macro yearmonth(YM=);

blah blah code

%mend;

The parameter for the macro is yearmonth so like 202204. So the final table output is 1 month depending on the YM i put in like 202204. But I want append a whole bunch of months together 12 from each year. 

How do I make this macro run on a loop for each month from like 202101 to 202204 and then append them altogether?

I'm a noob with do loops so please help! thank you very much. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

Let's assume that your macro is functioning correctly (and that it actually makes sense to re-use it for this purpose).

Let's also assume that it creates an output dataset named WANT.

What you then need is a way to generate calls to the macro for each of the month descriptors and also some way to combine the datasets it generates.

Let's tackle the second problem first.  If you wanted to call it three times and build one large dataset you could use these steps:

proc delete data=ALL ; run;
%yearmonth(YM=202201);
proc append data=WANT base=ALL force; run;
%yearmonth(YM=202202);
%yearmonth(YM=202203);

And now you have a dataset named ALL with the combined data from the three macro calls.

So how to generate that code?  You could write another macro.

Or just use a data step to generate the code.  Either by writing a file that you can %INCLUDE. Or by using CALL EXECUTE().

To do the looping over months use an offset and the INTNX() function to generate the next date. Use a format to generate the character string you need to pass to the macro call.

So in a data step you might do:

filename code temp;
data _null_;
  file code;