BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
polpel
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello,

I'm working on a project in which I have some quite repetitive steps, so I decided to create a macro that takes as parameter a dataset and a string.

When I call the macro for the first time, everything works fine. It's when I call it again right after with a different dataset and string that it goes wrong: the string changes in the results, but the macro's printed data doesnt change and keeps the results from the previous macro call.

I'm afraid I cant post my macro for confidential issues, but I think my problem is quite explicit. Are there any steps I'm missing when calling/ recalling the macro? I'm quite new to SAS so all my macro consists of is:

% macro data_management(table, string)

#repetitive code pasted here#

%mend

I even tried deleting the datasets and the end of the macro once the printing had been done, but it still didnt change anything...

Regards

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Reeza
Super User

@polpel wrote:

I'm afraid I cant post my macro for confidential issues, but I think my problem is quite explicit. Are there any steps I'm missing when calling/ recalling the macro? I'm quite new to SAS so all my macro consists of is:

Make a small reproducible example that does the same thing. Have it print sashelp.class. Usually doing this helps find the issue anyways. 

Can we assume you've already run your code with the macro debugging options and examined the log? If not, run the following options, then run your macro and check the log. 

Most likely you're not replacing something and missing an ampersand somewhere. Ie you hardcoded something that should be a macro variable. 

options mprint symbolgen;
*options mlogic;*if needed - makes log really long;

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User