BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
ScoobieR
Obsidian | Level 7

hi there, I'm experienced in creating macros and manipulating arrays etc but not in using %do loops outwith a data step / proc sql so am getting stuck on this.

I have a data set (called masterlist) with 2 variables - varnum is sequential and variable1 has no duplicates - each entry is unique:

varnum  variable1

1              CompanyName1

2              CompanyName2

3              CompanyName3

etc

N             CompanyNameN

I want to search another table (newtable) to flag all instances of each of the values in variable1 i.e. CompanyName1, CompanyName2 --- CompanyNameN  to find how many of each record in variable1 are in newtable (which has a variable companyname).  The companyname field in newtable is free text so can be entered with capitals, shortened form (LTD instead of Limited), extra spaces, spelling mistakes etc) etc so  it is not always an exact match to what is held in the table masterlist.  I am going to do some "fuzzy" matches based on substring and index functions on key parts of the value in variable1.  I can do what I need for just one value of variable1, but how do I make the program loop through all values in variable1? In simple terms I want something like this:

do i=1 to (N)

data newtable;

set newtable;

if substr(companyname, 1,3) = variable1(i) or index(companyname,"variable1(i)") > 0 then flag = (i);

run;

end;

Each row in column "flag" would end up with lots of blanks and numbers between 1 and N (the max being the number of entries table masterlist)

and then I ultimately want to do a count of each " fuzzy match" on companyname in newtable

proc summary data=newtable nway missing;

class flag;

output out= etc;

run;

I feel I need to create global variables for varnum(i) and variable1(i) and then feed those into a do loop for the data step?