BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Cheesiepoof05
Obsidian | Level 7

Hello, I'm new to SAS and working on a simple query using a PROC SQL statement.  I'm trying to do two things.  1. Convert the date column to a date like 20230101 (also interested in how to convert it to just year month like 202301).  2. I will also need to be able to limit to a certain date range like something like 

WHERE t1.Date > 20230101

AND t1.Date < 20230331

SAS is currently showing the date in the following format when running my query:  01AUG2017:00:00:00.000

SQL server management studio states that the date format is "datetime" and shows it in this format:  2020-07-07 00:00:00.000

This is my current statement.  But I'm looking to convert the date to YYYYMMDD and I also need to add in the ability to limit within a date range.

PROC SQL;
CREATE TABLE WORK.QUERY_FOR_DATE AS
SELECT

t1.Event,
t1.Date
FROM FACS.Occurances t1
;
QUIT;

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

You should NOT convert actual SAS dates to 20230101, as this makes it more difficult to work with. SAS does not recognize 20230101 as a date, even if humans do recognize it as a date. So work with SAS, not against it.

To work with SAS, and use actual SAS date values or SAS date/time values, your SQL snippet becomes

WHERE datepart(t1.Date) > '01JAN2023'D
AND datepart(t1.Date) < '31MAR2023'D 

Whatever else you need to do with dates can be done in similar fashion to the above, and by leaving the values as SAS date (or date/time), all logical and arithmetic operations with dates will work.

If you need to have dates that have a specific appearance in your output , such as 20230101, you do not convert the date to something else, you change its appearance by applying a format, such as YYMMDDN8.

--
Paige Miller

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26