BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
danacosman
Calcite | Level 5

Hi,

My output data (.DAT) is tab-delimited (used proc export) but because some observations have different lengths columns are not properly align. Every variable/column has same length $30. 

Example of my output:

Capture.JPG

How I need them to be:
Capture2.JPG

I tried to use PUT statement but the output didn't change.

put  second_column @20 number_column @40;

-> this means that sas will start writing second_column starting with 20th character in the line and number_column will always start at 40th character. Did I get it wrong?

I'm new to sas and I try to understand it's ways. Any tip would help, thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
RW9
Diamond | Level 26 RW9
Diamond | Level 26

You need to decide what you actually want.  If you want all the columns to lign up then you want fixed width file format, for example:
https://communities.sas.com/t5/Base-SAS-Programming/exporting-3-datasets-into-one-fixed-width-text-f...

If you want to have tab delimited, then that will show the tab in the reader you open it with (each reader is different, for instance if you use notepad to open the file the tab might be 3 characters, open in ord it might tab differently).  This is why I avoid using tab in anything - including in SAS code, as tabs render differently on different systems/applications.  The underlying character is the same, but as that is a special character (like line feed and page break) it is down to the reader to render it.  

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
RW9
Diamond | Level 26 RW9
Diamond | Level 26

You need to decide what you actually want.  If you want all the columns to lign up then you want fixed width file format, for example:
https://communities.sas.com/t5/Base-SAS-Programming/exporting-3-datasets-into-one-fixed-width-text-f...