BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
polpel
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello,

As explicit as my problem may sound haha, it's been really annoying as I'm new to SAS.

Basically I have a dataset with different types of observations (call them "main" and "sub"), then I have the amount it costs, the transaction id and sub-id.

So for example, we've got:

type           cost         id            sub-id

main          10           123              1

sub             5            123               2

What I want is this

type           cost         id            sub-id      sub-cost

main          10           123              1             5

Note that there can be more than one pair of main/sub for one id... and sometimes mains are alone but subs are always with a main...

Thnkassss

9 REPLIES 9
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

It's nearly impossible to provide a generalized solution for you that will work in many situations, as you have provided an example that is really only one situation. If the entire data set mirrors this one example (although I suspect it won't), then this will work:

data want;
    merge have(where=(type='main')) have(where=(type='sub')
       rename=(cost=sub_cost));
run;

Also please note that SAS variables cannot have a hyphen in their name, even though your example seems to imply they can have hyphens.

--
Paige Miller
polpel
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello,

I've written in SAS code the have and want datasets, do you think you could help with the code that would go in between both pls?

data have;
	input type $ cost key sub_key;
	cards;
main 15 144 1
sub 13 144 2
main 10 144 3
sub 12 144 4
main 21 129 1
;
run;

data want;
	input type $ cost sub_cost key sub_key;
	cards;
main 15 13 144 1
main 10 12 144 3
main 21 0 129 1
;
run;
andreas_lds
Jade | Level 19

Have you tried the solution provided by @PaigeMiller ? Afaik it will create the expected dataset - maybe the variables are in ordered differently, but the order of variables is hardly important at all.

PaigeMiller