BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Dani08
Obsidian | Level 7

I have a lookup table of product names (around 200)

For example,

• BARKAT
  • CALOGEN
  • CALSHAKE
  • etc.

and I would like to search each of these products through all of my observations. 

I am not sure how to go about this as I am still new to SAS...

I need to do some sort of a scan as the product names do not exactly match up.

For example, when I search for these names in the productname variable, I would like to flag things like...

• Barkat brown rice
  • Calogen extra
  • Calogen extra shots
  • Calshake
  • etc.

I made a cntlin list of the product names, and tried to use indexw/findw, but these seem to require individual words. My list is up to 200, so a manual search is not an option. I wonder if there is a way to do this?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
RW9
Diamond | Level 26 RW9
Diamond | Level 26

This isn't the best topic to be starting to learn with if your new to SAS.  

As for how to do it, there are a few ways, the way I would go with (and you have not provided any test data in the form of datasteps so this is only an example) - assumes listofwords contains the words, and have contains one string variable called sentance:

data _null_;
  set listofwords end=last;
  if _n_=1 then call execute('data want; set have; length wordsfound $2000;');
  call execute('if findw(sentance,"'||strip(word)||'") >0 then wordsfound=catx(",",wordsfound,"'||strip(word)||'");');
  if last then call execute('run;');
run;

What this does is create the datastep code after this is executed, which has an if statement for each word in listofwords, with a catx() function call to add any words found to wordsfound variable.  

As mentioned this is advanced, not a good area for learning as the above probably doesn't make any sense to you.

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
RW9