BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.

All, 
     I am new to SAS and have been trying to learn and appreciate the help of anyone who can guide me on this issue. I have an internal API which I have successfully accessed using R, I am trying to now learn how to the same using PROC HTTP. My R code that works successfully is provided below, I am also attaching my attempt of the SAS code:

RawResponse1 <- GET(RequestURL1, add_headers('Authorization' = paste0('Bearer ', AccessToken)))

In the above code, RequestURL1 and AccessToken are custom built. My attempt and rebuilding this in SAS is shown below: 

filename ProjResp "/ProjApiResponse.txt"; * edited the filepath ;

Proc HTTP
	    URL = URLDes
            Method ="get" 
            Out = ProjResp 
            ct = "Authorization" = "Bearer &AccessToken"; 
	Run;

* URLDes is the custom URL equivalent to RequestURL1 in the previous case ;

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ChrisHemedinger
Community Manager

And then did you SYMPUT the value into a macro variable?  Your computed name in the DATA step won't be in scope by the time you get to the PROC HTTP step -- you have to store it in a macro variable.  Try this:

Data _null_; 
 URLDes = &URLToUse || "/" || &ProjectID || "/" || "Prediction" || "/" || &PredictionID;
 call symputx('URLDes',URLDes); 
;
Run; 
proc http
 method="GET"
 url = "&URLDes."
 out=ProjResp;
 headers
   "Authorization"="Bearer &AccessToken.";
run;
It's time to register for SAS Innovate! Join your SAS user peers in Las Vegas on April 16-19 2024.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
ChrisHemedinger
Community Manager

You want the HEADERS statement in PROC HTTP.

I have a complex example here.

Your code would look like:

Proc HTTP
	    URL = URLDes
            Method ="get" 
            Out = ProjResp ;
            headers "Authorization" = "Bearer &AccessToken"; 
	Run;