BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
sasman
Calcite | Level 5

I am very new to SAS and am looking for help with a very basic task.

I have figured out how to count the number of observations in a dataset by group, or to display the counts using proc freq. How would I go about storing the information (for example, number of observations coming from group 4) so that I can use it later on? For example, if I determined that 134 observations come from group 4, how could I store this information so that I can use the number later on in some computations? Could I do this simultaneously for the counts coming from all groups?

Is there a way to do this with proc freq? Is there a basic way to do it without this procedure?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Reeza
Super User

Use the OUT option in the TABLES statement

proc freq data=sashelp.class noprint;
table age/out=num_age;
run;

proc print data=num_age;
run;

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Reeza
Super User

Use the OUT option in the TABLES statement

proc freq data=sashelp.class noprint;
table age/out=num_age;
run;

proc print data=num_age;
run;
sasman
Calcite | Level 5

Thanks, that makes sense.

A followup question: say our data had age as a categorical variable (1 if someone is age 10-19, 2 if age is 20-29, etc). Is there a way I can use the value of the number of those with age=2 in computations, by writing something like "num_age[2]"?

Reeza
Super User

I don't think so. 

There are other short cuts that can be used, look up SAS variable lists and short cuts.

Arrays are also good to know.

ballardw
Super User

@sasman wrote:

Thanks, that makes sense.

A followup question: say our data had age as a categorical variable (1 if someone is age 10-19, 2 if age is 20-29, etc). Is there a way I can use the value of the number of those with age=2 in computations, by writing something like "num_age[2]"?