BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
_maldini_
Barite | Level 11
I'm attempting a linear mixed-effects regression using PROC MIXED. I have never done this analysis before, and frankly, it's over my head..

Can someone help me understand this warning in the log. It only appears in my fully-adjusted model.

"The R matrix depends on observation order within subjects. Omitting observations from the analysis because of missing
values can affect this matrix. Consider using a classification effect in the REPEATED statement to determine ordering in
the R matrix."

The documentation for the REPEATED statement states that "Specifying a repeated effect is useful...", but it's not clear what or how I would do so.

Thanks for the assistance.

PROC MIXED DATA=have METHOD=REML EMPIRICAL;		
	CLASS condition sex school baseline;
	MODEL score = condition timepoint_num condition*timepoint_num age sex school baseline / SOLUTION;
	REPEATED / TYPE=UN SUBJECT=patientid;
	QUIT;

2 REPLIES 2
Rick_SAS
SAS Super FREQ

To address the "over my head" concern, you might want to read the papers

I'm nit an expert in mixed models, but in KTG (2012), on p. 3, there is an example similar to yours. The surrounding text seems to imply that since you did not put PATIENTID on the CLASS statement, that you should sort the data by PATIENTID and by the time-like variable (which might be timepoint_num???). So try this before the PROC MIXED step:

proc sort data=have;

by patientid timepoint_num; /* or whatever variable is used to order the repeated obs */

run;

SteveDenham
Jade | Level 19

Working from @Rick_SAS's surmission about your code, try the following:

CLASS condition sex school baseline timepoint_num patientid;
	MODEL score = condition timepoint_num condition*timepoint_num age sex school baseline / SOLUTION;
	REPEATED timepoint_num / TYPE=UN SUBJECT=patientid;
	RUN;