BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Ethid
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi all,

I am a sas beginner and I wanted to do the following. I have a variable "int" that has integers and when I run proc freq on it I get how many observations are associated with each variable. For example:

int              Frequency

0.17           1123

0.92           156

1                 2300

1.42            2152

1.67            635

I want to create a new variable that multiplies int*frequency. I then want a total sum of this new variable. Any help would be appreciated, thank you!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Astounding
PROC Star

If you step away from PROC FREQ for a moment, you can get this from your original data set directly:

proc summary data=original nway;

class int;

var int;

output out=want (keep=int total) sum=total;

run;

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
novinosrin
Tourmaline | Level 20
data have;
input int              Frequency;
cards;
0.17           1123
0.92           156
1                 2300
1.42            2152
1.67            635
;

proc sql;
create table want as
select *,int*frequency as multi, sum(calculated multi) as sum
from have;
quit;
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

proc summary data=have;
    var int;
    weight frequency;
    output out=want sum=;
run;
--
Paige Miller
Ethid
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi all, thank you for the help! It seems you are suggesting I make a new data set where I manually enter the "int" and "frequency" values. I have hundred of  "int" values however so it would take me a while to run proc freq on int then create a dataset using the frequency proc freq generated for me. is there another way to do it that doesn't involve me manually creating a new dataset?

thanks!

PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

@Ethid wrote: