BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
laksenov
Calcite | Level 5

Hi all, 

I'm new to SAS University Edition and I would greatly appreciate your help. I'm having difficulty finding a solution to a problem I have with two dimensional arrays. I am trying to determine how many times particular medications were given in the Emergency Department (ED) and whether they were given in the ED, given at ED discharge, or both. 

The dataset I am working with has information regarding up to 8 medications given during a patient visit to the ED (med1-med8). Each medication is identified by multiple 5-digit codes. For instance, the medication tramadol can be coded as 95050, 96041, 00319, or 08329. This is coded as a character variable. Furthermore, variables gpmed1-gpmed8 describe if the corresponding medication in med1-med8 was given in the ED (1), as a prescription at discharge (2), both (3) or blank/NA (-7,-9,8,9). So for instance, if med1 = 95050 and gamed = 2, then Tramadol was given at ED discharge for that particular visit. 

This is the SAS code I used to determine frequency for a particular medication, Tramadol in this example: 

data example.working;
	set example.working;
	array meds(8) med1-med8;
	array gpmeds(8) gpmed1-gpmed8;
	do i = 1 to 8;
	if meds(i) in ('95050','96041','00001','03319','08329') 
		and gpmeds(i) = 1 then Tramadol = 1; 
		and gpmeds(i) = 2 then Tramadol = 2; 
		and gpmeds(i) = 3 then Tramadol = 3; 
		and gpmeds(i) in (-7,-9,8,9) then Tramadol = 4; 
		and gpmeds(i) in ( . ) then Tramadol = 5; 
        end;	
run;

proc freq data=example.working; 
	tables Tramadol;
run;

This gives me the frequencies of Tramadol being given in the ED, at discharge, or both.