BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Shayan2012
Quartz | Level 8

Hi guys,

I need to count the number of observations for "each firm" in "each year" to be able to ignore those years with less than (for example) 3 observations.

my data set is something like this (and the count column is what I need!)

year    permno        count

1               1                  3

1               1                 3

1               1                 3

2               1                  1

3               1                 1

1               2                 1

2               2                 4

3               2                 1

4               2                 1

can any one help me to write this with SQL this, please? (and since I am a newbie in sas, would you please describe it a little Smiley Happy?)

Thanks a lot

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
PGStats
Opal | Level 21

proc sql;

create table want as

select * from have natural join

(select *, count(*) as count

from have

group by permno, year

/*  having count(*) >=3 */ ) ;

select * from want;

quit;

Says : Count observations within each group defined by permno and year (that's the part within parenthesis) then join these counts with the original table, joining on the variables that they have in common (natural join). 

The commented out (having clause) is where you would exclude years with less than 3 observations .

PG

PG

View solution in original post

15 REPLIES 15
PGStats
Opal | Level 21

proc sql;

create table want as

select * from have natural join

(select *, count(*) as count

from have

group by permno, year

/*  having count(*) >=3 */ ) ;

select * from want;

quit;

Says : Count observations within each group defined by permno and year (that's the part within parenthesis) then join these counts with the original table, joining on the variables that they have in common (natural join).