BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
nastya
Fluorite | Level 6

I am new to SAS and would like to solve I guess pretty simple task

I have the following data for incidences of the decease for each of 9 age groups for 17 years (2001-2017) and population in each age group

Here is data for 2001 year

Age      Count        Population

00-19      46           17945108

20-29      150         10460561

85+         109         1066463

And I need to calculate crude rate per 100000 with 95% CI intervals for all years using exact Poisson method.

Year   Crude rate   Low   High

2001       ....             ...       ...

2017       ....             ...       ...

I think it could be done by using one of the SAS proc but I do not know which one and how.

Could anyone help me to solve this?

Thank you very much in advance

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
FreelanceReinh
Jade | Level 19

Hi @nastya,

Thanks for sharing the link to openepi.com. This is interesting. Now it's easy to provide SAS code:

/* Create sample data
   (n=Number of cases, pt=person-time, ptu=person-time unit) */

data have;
input n pt ptu;
cards;
   5       25     10
4060 76513290 100000
;

/* Compute crude rate with two confidence intervals:
   exact Poisson CI and Byar's approximation */

%let alpha=0.05;

data want;
set have;
rate=n/pt*ptu;
lcl_exact=cinv(&alpha/2,2*n)/2/pt*ptu;
ucl_exact=cinv(1-&alpha/2,2*(n+1))/2/pt*ptu;
lcl_Byar=max(n*(1-1/(9*n)-probit(1-&alpha/2)/3*sqrt(1/n))**3/pt*ptu,0);
ucl_Byar=(n+1)*(1-1/(9*(n+1))+probit(1-&alpha/2)/3*sqrt(1/(n+1)))**3/pt*ptu;
run;

proc print data=want;
run;

Result:

lcl_       ucl_
   n          pt       ptu      rate      exact      exact     lcl_Byar    ucl_Byar

5          25        10    2.00000    0.64939    4.66733     0.64454     4.66727
4060    76513290    100000    5.30627    5.14429    5.47205     5.14429     5.47205