BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
jwill731
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello,

I'm very new to SAS 9.4 and just started learning to code.

I would like to separate the observations in my data by date (specifically year). My 'date_of_service' variable is in the format of mm/dd/yy but it is entered as just numbers, not as a date format.

I tried using the code below to separate 2010 entry from 2011 entry but SAS doesn't recognize the dates.

data pei2010 pei2011;
set mylib.peinodup;
if date > '31Dec2010'd then output pei2011;
if date <= '31Dec2010'd then output pei2010;
run;

How do I change the format for my 'date_of_service' entries so that it can be recognized as date? When I go to column attributes, it seems like it is in character format.

Thanks in advance and please message me if I'm missing something critical.

6 REPLIES 6
mohamed_zaki
Barite | Level 11

@jwill731 wrote:

Hello,

I'm very new to SAS 9.4 and just started learning to code.

I would like to separate the observations in my data by date (specifically year). My 'date_of_service' variable is in the format of mm/dd/yy but it is entered as just numbers, not as a date format.

If it is as you said then it is recognized as Date by sas.

Could you run :

proc contents data=mylib.peinodup;
run;

And post the output table "Alphabetic List of Variables and Attributes" values.

Your code should work fine also if your data is fine. But you should consider that it does not only separate 2010 entry from 2011. But separate (2010 and all before) from (2011 and all after).

jwill731
Fluorite | Level 6

Here is the table. It is in the character format and with regards to separating everything before 2010 and after 2011 it is okay. The data only contains 2010 and 2011

Alphabetic List of Variables and Attributes # Variable Type Len Format Informat Label 1 13 2 5 8 9 14 4 10 12 3 6 7 11
AChar1$1.$1.A
Approved_amtNum8COMMA15.2 Approved_amt
BChar1$1.$1.B
DOBChar7$7.$7.DOB
Date_of_ServiceChar10$10.$10.Date_of_Service