BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
BKPatel
Calcite | Level 5

I have patient encounter file with more than 13000 records. File structure is like this.

No  Problemtype1     problemtype1b    problemtype1c  ...  problemtype49   prblemtype49c   outcome1   outcome1b ...  outcome49c

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  

1          aa                            bb                         cc                       aa                 bb                   solved          rejected           denied

I need to count respective outcomes if problemtype is 'aa'. I tried using 2 dimentional array but its not working.

How to solve this problem ?   Please help me. I am new to SAS.

6 REPLIES 6
Reeza
Super User
So if any problem type is 'aa' you need to summarize the different values of outcome variables? How many problemtype variables and outcome and what are there naming conventions? Does the solution from @PGStats work for you from the other question you posted?
BKPatel
Calcite | Level 5

No. I am getting error.

ERROR: Array subscript out of range at  problemType = pt{i};

Reeza
Super User
You didn't answer any of my questions...
Is the rule if any problemtype variable is equal to 'aa' you need to summarize the different variables?
How many problemtype variables?
What naming conventions are used?

Can you simplify the problem to say 10 problemtype variables and 4 observations and show your expected input and output?
BKPatel
Calcite | Level 5
I am sorry. I was so much into solving problem.

There are 147 problemtype variables and 147 Outcome variables. I also tried to simplify and run code. With minor change in solution given by PGstats, I solved problem.

Thanks a lot everyone for inputs.

ballardw
Super User

@BKPatel wrote:

No. I am getting error.

ERROR: Array subscript out of range at  problemType = pt{i};