BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Mj296
Calcite | Level 5

I hope that somebody could help, as I am fairly new to SAS coding and I am sure this is perhaps really simple. I am looking to show the number of applications received and those rejected between a start date of 1August 2017 and Today’s date (up to 31st July 2018). The date period needs to then be reset (ideally automatically rather than resetting a macro variable) at 1August 2018 for the next cycle i.e. up to 31st July 2019. Additionally, I need to show a daily comparison of current applications compared to those in the previous year. Any pointers would be great!

The dataset I have is structured like this

Stage                     Date

REJ

22Apr2018

APP

01Jun2017

APP

03Jun2017

APP

09Jan2018

REJ

18Apr2017

APP

23Mar2018

APP

20Apr2017

REJ

20Apr2018

APP

05Dec2017

APP

12Mar2018

REJ

17Dec2017

APP

12Aug2017

APP

05Dec2017

REJ

12Mar2018

REJ

17Dec2017

APP

19Nov2017

APP

23Mar2018

REJ

29Nov2017

3 REPLIES 3
RW9
Diamond | Level 26 RW9
Diamond | Level 26

Just create a flag for year:

data want;
  set have;
  do i=2000 to 2040;
    if mdy(8,1,i) <= date <= mdy(8,31,i+1) then active_year=i;
  end;
run;

You then have active_year which you can do summaries and such like on.  Note not tested, post test data in the form of a datastep in future.

novinosrin
Tourmaline | Level 20

Can you please post a sample of your expected output?

ballardw
Super User

@Mj296 wrote: