BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
DaniDenzel
Fluorite | Level 6

I am new to SAS so my knowledge is very basic. I am using SAS version 9.3. I want to create multiple matrices based on a single matrix, V, that I have created. In Stata, the loop is very simple but I do not know how to replicate it in SAS. In Stata, I would write:

forvalues i=1/23 {
    mat V`i'=V

}

How do I write this in SAS to produce 23 matrices that are equal to the matrix, V? I want to do this so that I can then manipulate the matrices.

Thanks for your help!

5 REPLIES 5
IanWakeling
Barite | Level 11

There is no built in way to have an array of matrices in IML, so it may be best to consider storing all the matrices in one large matrix. If the matrices are all the same shape (as in your example) then you could stack them side-by-side or on top of each other and then access each one by subsetting columns or rows.

There is a way to keep the matrices separate by using the VALSET and VALUE functions, but avoid this if you can as it can make the code difficult to follow.  Rick has a nice blog post on this.

DaniDenzel
Fluorite | Level 6
Thank you for your response; it has been extremely helpful. I am glad to see that I didn't miss a glaringly obvious solution.
Ksharp
Super User
Could you post an example (a dummy matrix) to explain what you are looking for ?
Rick_SAS
SAS Super FREQ

Welcome to SAS. I'm not familiar with that Stata notation, but here are some tips that I hope will help you get started. First, read "Ten tips for learning the SAS/IML language."