BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
techsassy
Obsidian | Level 7

Hello, I am an experienced programmer and long time user of SAS Enterprise Guide. One issue that I've often noticed with SAS EG throughout the years is that, after using other working platforms (Excel spreadsheets, Chrome browser tabs, etc.), when I try to switch back to Enterprise Guide, it very regularly hangs for anywhere from 10 to 30 seconds before I can interact with it again. It doesn't matter if I leave EG on the code tab or a data tab; the whole platform seems to hang whenever I try to multitask in other non-EG software, which is very frustrating and disruptive to workflow. 

My company recently upgraded our laptops and I received a fairly robust model. I'm using a Dell 3480 with Windows 10, 32GB RAM, 13th Gen i7-1370P (20 CPUs) 1.9GHz, NVIDIA RTX A500. Even on a fresh install with a brand new laptop, Enterprise Guide continues to have regular, long hang times when switching between other software platforms. I tried assigning greater priority (high and real-time) to a couple of SAS processes in Windows Task Manager, but it didn't help at all.

Does anyone know of either a workaround to this issue or else a way to allocate more CPU/RAM resources to Enterprise Guide, or other tips and tricks that might help?

11 REPLIES 11
ChrisHemedinger
Community Manager

What you're describing is not normal/expected behavior. EG should be as snappy as any other application you're using.

You could turn on Application Logging in the Tools->Options area and if you notice it happening again, work with SAS Tech Support and supply a sample application log file. These contain detailed events that Tech Support or developers can use to see what might be causing a pause.

Check out SAS Innovate on-demand content! Watch the main stage sessions, keynotes, and over 20 technical breakout sessions!
techsassy
Obsidian | Level 7