BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Memma
Calcite | Level 5

I am new to SAS Enterprise Guide and have difficulty setting up a local server on my PC. From some of the threads on this forum, it appears that an installation of Base SAS is necessary for this configuration to take place. Can anyone enlighten me on how I can overcome this barrier to learning more about using EG?

Thanks

KPA

7 REPLIES 7
LinusH
Tourmaline | Level 20

If you have a base sas installation as local server, you just chose "no profile". It's not very intuitive, I know...

Data never sleeps
Memma
Calcite | Level 5

LinusH,

Thanks for the response. SAS Enterprise Guide appears to be crippled and JMP is no better though I use both intermittently for basic stats analysis.

Consequently, none of the e-learning courses can be faithfully replicated without serious contortions when library assignments are required. I am wondering if I can afford Base SAS on my limited student budget. Are there ways around these limitations or is Base SAS equally constraining? Or should I be looking in the mirror?

I appreciate your helpful response.

Memma

SASKiwi
PROC Star

Your comment that you need Base SAS aka Foundation SAS on your PC to have an Enterprise Guide local server is correct. Just to clarify EG is a thin-client app that requires either a local or remote SAS server to be functional - it is not a standalone product. With Base SAS much of the functionality in EG will then work, but not all. Some EG tasks require other SAS products.

Have you looked at the SAS On Demand product? This may be more suitable for you as a student. I understand it may only be available though if you are in the US or Canada (not an option for me then...). Also I believe many educational organisations are able to provide SAS free to students if they are using it for their courses and have the appropriate SAS education licences.

Memma
Calcite | Level 5

SASKiwi