BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Tucky
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi, I'm new to SAS, just completed Programming 1 and VA Fast Track and gained access to EG. While I wait for The Little SAS Book for Enterprise to arrive in the mail, I have a few questions about joining tables in EG.

Please correct my nomenclature or terminology when possible, so I can improve my knowledge of this platform. If anything is unclear, let me know and I will do my best.

My usual MO is to use Excel to join and lookup values to build tables from several .csv files. I have very adept at performing these actions, and while sometimes slow, it does the job. I have had it referred to as the tradesman way of doing things, and haven't got a great deal of experience with Access, SQL or relational databases, although I can waddle my way through.

I appreciate the power and might of SAS, and would like to start performing these actions in EG for myself, with a view that other non SAS users can run these as a stored process or project as backup in a pinch.

Ok, here is where I am at.

Importing Data - all good

Formats, Informats and Labels - all good

Converting to SAS datasets - all good, I have converted my lookup files into SAS sets, as well as my source files.

Calculated fields - ok, still working on it (missing values had me for a sec)

Joining Tables - hmmmm not working the same way as I thought it would

Example – Old Method join

I concatenate three columns into one value in all tables, to get one index value or primary key. Starting the query the tbl_Source1, I use this value to vlook other tables to return values to separate columns. Let's call it Key (var1,var2,var3).I have simplified it down to two returned values and a few other calc fields and a value lookup.

tbl_Source1

Key (var1,var2,var3)

var1

var2

var3

var3_literal

X

Y

Calc_Field

Calc_Field2

redwhiteblue

Red

White

Blue