BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
deleted_user
Not applicable
I'm fairly new to enterprise Guide, and don't have a manual to work with.

I'm trying to run some code that does not use something like proc glm or proc mixed etc, this kind of code is easy to do in maple or R, but I've just got no idea why SAS freaks out.

r = 4;
df1 = 5-1;
df2 = (r-1)*(5-1);
c = css(4,5,6,7,8);
ncp = r*c/sigma2;
fcrit = finv(0.95,df1,df2);
power = 1-probf(fcrit,df1,df2,ncp);
proc print;
run;

The reason I'm using it in SAS is I'm trying to take advantage of the css() function which I don't believe exists in alternative software.

thanks!
6 REPLIES 6
GoodPeace
Calcite | Level 5
without knowing anything about what your formulaes are doing and if your use of CSS makes sense, I can suggest you put it into a data step to make it work:

data calcs;
r = 4;
df1 = 5-1;
df2 = (r-1)*(5-1);
c = css(4,5,6,7,8);
ncp = r*c/sigma2;
run;
proc print data=calcs;
run;

it's not really using much of sas's power, but I guess it'll work for what you need.
deleted_user
Not applicable
Goodpeace,

Thanks for the suggestion. I see that I really need to buy a manual or something, as my problem is primarily simple lack of knowledge about the SAS language... It wouldn't have occurred to me to treat my calculations as a data set.

As for the SAS manuals online... None of them really have headings like "So you just want to SAS to add 5+5..."
sbb
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10 sbb
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10
Kind suggestion - Google search below:

sas for dummies site:amazon.com

Scott Barry
SBBWorks, Inc.
Cynthia_sas
SAS Super FREQ
Hi:
If you read up on SAS basic concepts, you will soon learn that SAS has 2 basic modes of operation: "canned" procedures which do specific things (like getting one way frequency tables or generating summary statistics or creating cross-tabular analysis) and then the DATA step programming language. (That is an over-simplification, but it is one way to start thinking about what road you're on).