BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.

In EG 4.3, is it possible for me to define a function key that will:

1. Run the selected code on the server?

2. Cycle among tabs (program-log-output data-results etc)?

I'm new to EG.  In DMS, I use the keys command to set

F4 submit

F6 next

F7 clear

So I can cycle between eidtor/log/output without using the mouse.

Was happy to see that I could import my keyboard macros, just as in DMS.  But haven't yet figured out how to assign keys to submit and cycle tabs, and my mouse-hand is getting tired of clicking...

Thanks,

-Q.

BASUG is hosting free webinars Next up: Mike Sale presenting Data Warehousing with SAS April 10 at noon ET. Register now at the Boston Area SAS Users Group event page: https://www.basug.org/events.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ChrisHemedinger
Community Manager

In EG, you cannot map shortcut keys for functions outside of the editor window (with abbreviations/macros), as you discovered.  But there are predefined keys for many items.

F3 will "submit selected" statements in the editor, and I use this all of the time when developing a SAS program.  Be careful though -- F3 will also run your entire process flow if you have the focus on a process flow window.  Make sure that your cursor focus is within the editor window.

Ctrl+TAB and Ctrl+SHIFT+TAB will navigate among the tabbed windows in the workspace are (program, log, results) -- again, when that area has window focus.

A complete list of predefined keys are documented in the EG help.  Search the index for "keyboard shortcuts".

Chris

It's time to register for SAS Innovate! Join your SAS user peers in Las Vegas on April 16-19 2024.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
shivas
Pyrite | Level 9

Hi Quetin,

Is this what you are looking for..

Programs->Enhance Editor Keys.

Thanks,

Shiva

EG.png

Quentin
Super User

Thanks Shiva,