BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.

I have a SQL server master table, and a SAS dataset of transactions which are deletions to be applied.

Thanks to some advice from @ScottBass in https://communities.sas.com/t5/General-SAS-Programming/Can-I-update-a-SQL-Server-table-in-place-usin..., I've made progress.

I upload my transaction dataset to SQL server, then use explicit pass through to execute the SQL server MERGE statement.  My code looks like:

***Setup ;

*SQL master table (sql libref points to sql server database);
data sql.qMaster ;
  do id1=1 to 10 ;
    do id2= 1 to 5 ;
      output ;
    end ;
  end ;
run ;

*SAS transaction dataset of records to delete from the SQL data ;
data qTrans ;
  do id1=3,6,9 ;
    do id2=3,4 ;
      output ;
    end ;
  end ;
run ;

*PROC SQL to upload transaction table to SQL, then execute the  SQL server merge;

proc sql;
  create table sql.qTrans as
    select * from qTrans 
  ;      

connect to ODBC as myconn
    (datasrc=... user=... password="...");
  ;

execute (
    merge qMaster 
    using qTrans
    on (qMaster.id1=qTrans.id1 and qMaster.id2=qTrans.id2)
    when matched then delete 
    ;
  ) by myconn ;

disconnect from myconn ;
quit ;

It looks like that is doing what I want.  I feel like when I upload qTrans to SQL server I should make it a temporary table, but I couldn't get it to work.  I tried e.g. create table sql.'#qTrans'n but couldn't get it to work.  And I don't know anything about SQL server temp tables, would #qTrans persist long enough to be seen by my execute statement?  What about if I made it ##qTrans?  I suppose I don't have much to gain by making it an official temporary table rather than just dropping qTemp at the end, but figured it's worth a shot

Any other recommendations for improvements to this approach?.