BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
titan31
Quartz | Level 8

Hi,

I'm quite new to SAS and really can't get my head around it's code, so asking here for help. I'm using DI studio.

I've a job that is reading an external csv file using file reader, and have a macro created by a colleague that validates the data in this external file and prints out error message to a work table.

What I'd like to do is either on precode of the file reader, or by using another user written code transformation is to read the work table and check if observations exist, and if they do, abort the job. From googling, and between here and stackoverflow, I can find how to read a dataset and count observations but I'm having real difficulty in figuring out how to implement it so any guidance would be really appreciated, or if there are better ways using SAS Di transformations like Conditional Start etc, I'm all ears for those too.

Can anyone please help me on this?

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Patrick
Opal | Level 21

@titan31

What you describe sounds to me already like a bit too much user written code (like this macro you mention). But not knowing the details below some SAS code which you could run after the error table gets created, either as post code or as a separate user written node.

If there is a macro for capturing errors but you then only keep those error in a work table and you are not really interested to look at these error records then why don't you just abort the job directly in this macro as soon as it finds the first error.

But o.k., here a code sample that aborts the job if table test got any rows.

data _null_;
  if nobs>0 then
    do;
      put 'Table Test has ' nobs 'rows';
      put 'Aborting job';
      abort abend;
    end;
  stop;
  set test nobs=nobs;
run;

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
LinusH
Tourmaline | Level 20

Yes there are.