BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
asdd
Fluorite | Level 6

Hey guys,

I'm brand new to SAS and have limited experience, and the problem that I'm having seems way over my head.  I'm trying to import data from an excel file into SAS, but during a my data step I get an error about encoding.  Here's the script that I'm running:

libname surveyx pcfiles path='C:\Users\au551418\Desktop\Learning SAS\AUWork\Survey\Survey.xlsx';                                      

data work.survset;                                                                                                                      

set surveyx.’Data$’n;                                                                                                                    

run;

The surveyx library successfully is assigned each time, but when it comes to the set function, I always get this error:

ERROR: Unable to transcode data to/from UCS-2 encoding

Now, I don't know anything about encoding, and have tried to look up on previous forum posts what in the world to do.  I have tried a lot of stuff, but none of it has worked, and many of the posts are not xlsx files (which I have no idea if that matters or not).  Can anyone help me in a simplistic way?  Thanks!

7 REPLIES 7
RW9
Diamond | Level 26 RW9
Diamond | Level 26

To display characters to the screen a computer uses an encoding table, so for instance most tables contain the western alphabet, lower and upper, and they have their codes associated.  If you replace the encoding table, the same codes refer to different symbols.  This is how a computer a) stores information - a combination of what encoding table, and the code number, and b) represents it on screen, by drawing the associated character from the table.