BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Quentin
Super User

Hi,

Wondering what people think about the "Best Practice" for DI Studio jobs, regarding whether or not they should contain (or consist entirely of) user-written code.

On several threads relating to DI Studio, I have seen questions where someone asked about how to do something with a DI transformation (i.e. code generator).  If a response came back "you can do it easily with user-written code..." There was typically a response after that, recommending that people keep user-written code out of their DIS jobs.

Would people comment on what they see as the down-side of using user written code in DI jobs?

My background is as a SAS programmer.  I have only recently started using DI Studio.  And mostly my DI Jobs have been all user-written code.  In fact often just a single node which says %include xxx.sas.   So I use DI studio/SMC mostly as a tool to schedule ETL jobs.  The fact that they can send email notifications etc is also nice, but of course BASE SAS can do that too.

I guess it's really two questions:

1.  Is it reasonable to have a DI job which is just a user-written SAS program?  I would argue yes.  In the same way as I think it's reasonable to have an Enterprise Guide project which is all old fashioned user-written SAS code.  If you have SAS programmers, let them program in SAS.  In my head, "SAS programmer" is a different role / skillset than "DI Studio Developer."