BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
mjb7
Calcite | Level 5

I am currently studying to take my first (BASE) exam. I called a local Pearson Vue testing site and was surprised at the amount of invasive procedures taken to verify identity.

I took about 10 Microsoft certifications in the late 90's and I would need to sign in and show 2 pieces of ID. If I needed to use the restroom during the test it was okay (but needed to hurry as the clock was running). No problems with Drake Prometric at all.

Now PV and others require to empty all pockets an put all in a locker, pull out the insides of you pockets, take your picture, do a finger print scan several times, take off glasses for inspection, wave a wand around your body, roll up your sleeves... etc... Ridiculous!

There are several video camera's in the room recording and monitoring video and sound so people can't copy screen or voice out questions without being noticed. And a person's photo ID and signature should be enough to validate the person. I am having second thoughts about going through all this hassle.

I started looking into the at-home testing instead. Actually I called PV first because I thought that the at-home exam might be to invasive. I see that I need to download the PV software and have my webcam and microphone enabled (I normally have them both turned off for security reasons).

Here are my questions (finally):

What has been your experience taking an exam at an onsite testing facility?

Does the at-home test proctor have complete control of your laptop or just the PV browser and webcom and microphone?

I read somewhere where you are required to take pictures of the room you plan on taking the test in, is this true? If so, do you need to create a special testing place where there is no furniture, etc...?

Did you have any privacy or security concerns when taking on site or at home?

I think I read that you cant use the bathroom while taking an at-home test, true?