BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Edwinl
Calcite | Level 5

Hi I am new to SAS and encountered the following problem with missing values.

From the example below i didn't understand how you can count the line of data to allocate numerica data for the values. See below

Id

Cholesterol

Syst1olic

Diastolic

Height

Weight

SES

M

1. 64.3
  2. 147.45

F

1. 69.2
  2. 167.35

F

1. 70.8

1. 72.5
  2. 229.21

m

1. 66.1
  2. 134.96

@1 ID  @3 cholest @5 age @8 gender @10 s ystolic @14  diastolic @17  height @22 weight  @29 SES

How to you count the line of data to get  ID=3 , cholest=5,  age=8, gender=8 and etc.

Any help please

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Cynthia_sas
SAS Super FREQ

Hi:

I believe that you would be better served by asking your professor or teaching assistant to explain what the "counting along a line of data means". However, in the meantime, consider if you had a piece of graph paper and that every character and space took up one square of the graph paper. This is how SAS reads your "raw data" file, as though every character is in 1 square in a piece of hypothetical graph paper.

consider the following data:

1 0 42 m 110 65 64.3 147.45 2

2 0 53 f 130 72 69.2 167.35 1

And, notice how everything "lines up" (if you look at it in Notepad, displayed with a "fixed pitch" font like Courier). Every character takes 1 "position" or character position or column in the text file. Now, lets put a "counter" or "ruler" above this data:

12345678901234567890123456789 <-- "invisible ruler" where every character is a "column"

-----------------------------