BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
ssmith
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi folks,

I'm new to SAS, but not to programming, and am hoping you guys could help me out here! I am trying to automate some monthly reports via windows task scheduler, and a batch file. I'm running into an odd issue where I can run my sas script in the sas editor with no problem. However, if I run this same script through a batch file, the ODS PDF functions don't work. The batch file outputs the final dataset as a list file, and the data is correct, so the meat of the script is working correctly, it's just the ODS that I'm having trouble with. I'm using SAS 9.3 on a windows 7 machine.

The code is as simple as it can be:

ODS PDF file="C:\Users\user\Desktop\&sysdate..pdf";
   proc print data=finalname;
   run;
Ods PDF close;

The batch file looks like this:

pushd %~dp0\monthly\horseshoe
:: ----------------------------APPEND THE DATE TO THE FILENAME---------------------------------------------------
set reportname=Horseshoe_Monthly_Report_
set filename=%reportname%%DATE:~10,4%%DATE:~4,2%%DATE:~7,2%
::--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
"C:\Program Files\SASHome\x86\SASFoundation\9.3\SAS.exe"  -sysin "Script.sas" -NOSPLASH -ICON -PRINT logs\%reportname%.lst -LOG logs\%filename%.log

The log file and the list file write, and the script does properly execute(except for the ods output).

The log file does show a few notes at the begining, these notes do not show if I run this script through the editor:

NOTE: Unable to open SASUSER.REGSTRY. WORK.REGSTRY will be opened instead.
NOTE: All registry changes will be lost at the end of the session.

WARNING: Unable to copy SASUSER registry to WORK registry. Because of this, you will not see registry customizations during this 
        session.
NOTE: Unable to open SASUSER.PROFILE. WORK.PROFILE will be opened instead.
NOTE: All profile changes will be lost at the end of the session.
[Note about license redacted]