BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
dchanson
Fluorite | Level 6

I have a general question. Thank you in advance.

I am new to arrays. I am used to writing single if/then/else statements, but I want to be more efficient in my code.

I have a set of variables, var1-var3 and I need to create a new variable based on their condition. 

if any of the variables=1 then new_var=1

if all variables are 0 then new_var=0

but if variables are only 0 or -1 then new_var=99

My var1-var3 can have values of 0, 1 or -1

Here's what I have. I think this is giving me the OR version, but I am not sure and I don't know how to code the other 2 statements appropriately.

array var (3) var1-var3;
do n=1 to 3;
if var(n)=1 then new_var=1; /*this is saying if var1 or var2 or var3=1 then new_var=1?*/
else if var(n) not in 1 and var(n)=-1 then new_var=.;/*my attempt at getting the next 2 statements to be part of the loop, but I don't know if this is close to evaluating it properly*/

thank you again!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Reeza
Super User

Change your logic. 

Assuming numeric variables use WHICHN() to see if any are 1

if whichn(1, of var1-var3)  then new_var = 1;

If all variables are 0, the min and max are both zero as well. 

else if max(of var1-var3) = min(of var1-var3) = 0 then new_var = 0;

else new_var = 99;

ELSE is your last condition but you can also add another explicit check if needed.

No arrays needed.

If you really want arrays here are some tutorials on it:

Here's a tutorial on using Arrays in SAS
https://stats.idre.ucla.edu/sas/seminars/sas-arrays/

@dchanson wrote:

I am new to arrays. I am used to writing single if/then/else statements, but I want to be more efficient in my code.

I have a set of variables, var1-var3 and I need to create a new variable based on their condition.